Thursday, April 16, 2009

2009 DC and US Territories Quarters

Emily was searching through our change to fill in her US state quarters collection and noticed a 2009 quarter with the District of Columbia on it. I had no idea they were minting new quarters this year and looked it up. Lo and behold, they are doing to be minting DC and the US Territories this year.

In 2009, the United States Mint will mint and issue six quarter-dollar coins in honor of the District of Columbia and five U.S. territories: the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa, the U.S. Virgin Islands and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands. These coins will be issued in equal sequential intervals in 2009 in the order listed.

These are the states she's missing.

So be on the lookout for these new coins this year, if you enjoy collecting.

Stumble Upon Toolbar